人类如何实现永生


在思考未来时,我通常不会讨论技术细节,我本人也不是生物医学方面的专家。但目前很多人由于缺乏相关信息,对抗衰老技术持有怀疑态度。向人们普及抗衰老技术,有利于人类社会加大对抗衰老研究的投入,这将对人类的产生巨大影响,因此我将简单的为非专业人士梳理一下抗衰老技术的研究思路。

从基因层面分析,在动态秩序论中我解释过,死亡是物种进化的必然选择。那么对于如此重要的功能,基因很可能像脑神经系统一样,是有着强大冗余的,也即许多基因都会随着人体成长发育开始对人体产生不利影响,特别是人类性成熟之后。虽然我们可以使用CRISPR这样的基因编辑技术直接修改相关基因,但基因修改将是困难的,特别是它们彼此关联,很多长期影响可能难以在短期内测试出。

但我们还有其它办法。在我最初考虑抗衰老问题之前,我就特别着迷于一个问题,我也希望各位读者可以思考一下:

为什么人类的精子可以抗衰老?

人类精子的抗衰老能力是相当好的,老年人类男性所产生的精子也可以生育出健康的婴儿;而女性的卵子则要娇嫩的多,通常女性35岁以上就开始有卵子老化的倾向。精子不容易衰老,卵子容易衰老,然而所含有的遗传物质却是一样多的。为什么卵子比精子更容易衰老?精子与卵子主要的区别,在于卵子非常大,其细胞内包含有大量其它物质。而精子与卵子的抗衰老差异说明:影响细胞衰老的主要问题不是DNA等遗传物质,而是细胞内的其它物质发生的变化。



精子与卵子显著的大小差异

接下来让我们看另一个事实:从人类胎儿到成年过程中大量产生新的细胞,大量的DNA复制却仍没有发生明显的基因突变,这说明在理想状态下,DNA的复制过程是相对稳定的,即使有可能出现问题,也是可以接受的、非致命的,并非衰老的核心原因。这也在一定程度上说明,人类衰老的主要问题在于DNA以外的物质。

更具体地说,细胞衰老的一个根源应该是细胞生命过程中产生的有害物质在体内不断累积、循环,持续破坏其它细胞。这些有害物质积累到一定程度,将直接干扰、破坏DNA的复制,造成基因突变。当大量基因突变的情况发生在精子与卵子中,就会导致胎儿出现各种遗传疾病;当其发生在体细胞中,就会变成癌症等疾病。

那么,为什么中老年女性的受精卵仍可以生长为健康的婴儿?女性卵子细胞在其出生时就已经全部存在,为什么中老年父母体内积累的细胞损伤,没有大部分遗传给其子女?为何这些损伤没有一代一代积累下来?通过之前的分析,这个原因应该与DNA关系不大,而主要与细胞内其它物质有关的。具体原因很多,比如生殖细胞会被筛选(精子赛跑等),有更强的细胞修复能力等,但长达几十年的时间内,细胞损伤仍是不可避免的。

我对此提出一个简单粗暴的假说:衰老的生殖细胞之所以也可以成长为健康人,并且生殖细胞的细胞损伤不会一代一代积累,一个重要的原因是其持续分裂增殖的过程稀释了源自父母的衰老物质(也就是细胞损伤的各种产物)。在一颗受精卵分裂成人体中不计其数的细胞的过程中,只要其内部的有害物质没有影响到最初细胞分裂时的DNA复制,则各个新细胞内的原始有害物质将迅速被稀释到可以忽略不记的程度。比如,从受精卵开始,仅仅分裂10次,就将生成1024个新细胞,那么其有害物质的浓度也就只有原来的千分之一了。

一个反例是,给成年人注入干细胞的效果应该是不如未成年人的,因为干细胞分裂生成新细胞的组成物质仍是源自其体内的,因此成年人的干细胞生成的新细胞仍存在大量的有害物质。


回到抗衰老的问题,我们如何能让自己身体的细胞像年老的精子那样相对年轻?

要让我们身体的细胞变得更年轻,一个有效的方式,是不断生成新的细胞替换老细胞,稀释细胞中的有害物质。但是,人体产生出的新细胞,所用到的各种物质都是人体内原有的,而人体内的各种有害物质也就必然将会进入到新细胞中,因此我们还必须不断清除体内的有害物质,否则新细胞生成时就直接引入了原有的有害物质。以目前的科技水平,全面清除每个细胞内的有害物质是完全不可能的,但人体有复杂的体液循环系统,我们只需要利用体液循环系统,将这些有害物质的循环链条斩断即可。因此,我们应该从细胞凋亡与体液循环两个方向同时着手,一方面通过诱导衰老的细胞凋亡,另一方面,将体液中的有害物质清除或过滤掉,避免凋亡细胞中的有害物质重新进入新细胞中。

这两种技术相对简单,是更现实更可行的路线,可以更快的收到成效,进而吸引社会投入更多的资源,形成研发与投入的良性循环。这两个领域目前的抗衰老实验很多,只是似乎科学家们在分别研究这两个问题,要么研究诱发衰老细胞的凋亡,要么研究清除血液中的有害物质。然而,只促进衰老细胞凋亡,细胞被分解后的有害物质还是存在于体内,将再进入其它细胞并累积起来;而只清除血液中的有害物质则影响范围过于狭窄,难以有效改善人体绝大部分细胞的状态。我希望未来有科学家将这些方法结合到一起,我相信这将产生“1+1>2”的效果。

一些值得思考的技术细节:

  • 有些有害物质可能可被分解为无害物质,甚至将其转换为对人体有益的物质。
  • 可以考虑通过基因改造来解决有些有害物质带来的问题。
  • 单纯过滤有害物质比药物或基因修改更安全。抗衰老科学家可以考虑与研究人工肾脏的科学家协作,这样抗衰老科学家既可以利用人工肾脏装置现有的研究成果,也有利于在未来做一些长期的人体实验。毕竟人工肾脏到底需要清除哪些物质是很难说清的,以人工肾脏的名义申请进行人体实验或许可以减少很多不必要的阻力。而人工肾脏产品则有机会加入抗衰老功能,自然将获得比现在多得多的关注与投入,这样两个领域也就达成了双赢。


人类要达到永生或许要麻烦一些,基因改造应该是少不了的,或许还要处理端粒,体外培养干细胞等等。但我们可以先把目标定的小一些,仅仅是延缓人体衰老,这样已经足够我们等到科技继续进步,进而使我们继续使用新的抗衰老技术。

总之,抗衰老技术是可以在很短的时间内取得进步的,我们不必怀疑,而且延缓衰老的吸引力是如此之强,以至于不可能有人能阻挡这个进程,真正需要我们考虑的是抗衰老技术对人类社会的深远影响。

 

抗衰老技术的社会影响

抗衰老技术对人类健康起到的将是杠杆级作用,每个人都知道年轻人不容易生病,我们哪怕仅仅部分解决了抗衰老问题,都可以极大地减少人类疾病的发生。对政府机构而言,要解决医保资金问题,最简单有效的方法就是加强研究抗衰老技术。在抗衰老技术投入的每一元钱,可能将给医疗保险系统带来数十元的节省。而我们现在对抗衰老技术的投入只占医疗研发支出中极小的一块,这是非常不明智的。

随着人类健康问题的逐步解决,直至彻底解决衰老问题,养老、医疗体系的财政问题将自然的消解,老龄化所带来的劳动力短缺等问题自然也不存在了(假设人工智能技术仍没有解决这些问题)。

至于老年人无法快速适应改变,学习能力差等问题,同样可以在未来通过科技手段解决,返老还童本身就可以使老人恢复学习能力。

 

政府

一旦理解了抗衰老技术对人类健康带来的好处,我们可以思考一下: 政府会限制普通人接受抗衰老治疗吗?

从政府的角度说,抗衰老技术可以同时解决医疗保险,养老保险的财政压力,可以解决老龄化带来的种种社会问题,因此一定会大力推广。你可以怀疑政府的动机,但你一定要相信钱的力量。让我们再考虑一下其他国家会怎么做?抗衰老技术的普及与AI技术扩散是一样的道理,国与国之间,地区与地区之间的博弈,必然使得政府尽快推广抗衰老技术,以期取得对其他国家的竞争优势。

从生产力的角度来说,抗衰老技术成熟之时,AI技术在医疗行业的应用应该已经相当深入,因此生产力问题应该影响不大。

总之,只要技术上确实成熟,我们广大普通民众大可不必担心自己被这个世界抛弃,只需尽量保持健康,耐心等待。

 

最后留给读者们思考的问题

  • 超长寿命带来的社会阶层固化如何解决?
  • 人类社会的结构、伦理需要做出哪些调整来适应超长寿命?
  • 有了超长寿命的人类,应该做什么事情?追求什么?

动态秩序论中对这些问题都有所讨论,有兴趣的读者不妨看一看。

 


关于智道

智道(iDao)致力于培养民智,以及推广动态秩序论动态秩序论是一种面向未来的极简化哲学,其意义在于为全人类提供一种基础性的社会发展共识。

Eternal Life


When thinking about the future, I usually do not discuss technical details, nor am I an expert in biomedicine. However, now many people are skeptical about anti-aging technology due to lack of relevant information, and popularizing anti-aging technology to people is conducive to increasing the investment of anti-aging research in human society, which will have a great impact on human beings, so in this article, I will simply sort out the research ideas of anti-aging technology for non-professionals.

From a genetic level analysis, I explained in the Dorderism, that death is an inevitable choice for species evolution. So for such an important function, genes are likely to have strong redundancy like the brain nervous system, that is, many genes will begin to adversely affect the human body as the human body grows and develops, especially after human sexual maturity. Although we can use genetic editing techniques such as CRISPR to directly modify related genes, genetic modification will be difficult, especially they are related to each other, and many long-term effects may be difficult to test in the short term.

But we have other ways. Before I first considered the anti-aging problem, I was particularly fascinated by a problem. I also hope that readers can think about it:


Why can human sperm be resistant to aging?

The anti-aging ability of human sperm is quite good. The sperm produced by old men can also produce healthy babies, while women's eggs are much more delicate, and women's eggs tend to have an aging tendency when they are over 35 years old. Sperms are not prone to aging, and eggs are prone to aging, but they contain as much genetic material. Why are eggs more susceptible to aging than sperms? The main difference between sperm and egg is that the egg is very large, and it contains a lot of other substances. The anti-aging difference between sperm and egg shows that the main problem that affects cell aging is not the genetic material such as DNA, but the changes in other substances in the cells.


The notable size difference between sperm and egg

Let us look at another fact: from the human fetus to adulthood, a large number of new cells are produced, and a large amount of DNA replication still has no obvious genetic mutations. This indicates that in an ideal state, the replication process of DNA is relatively stable, and even if the process will cause many problems, it is also acceptable, non-fatal, and not the core cause of aging. This also explains to some extent that the main problem of human aging lies in substances other than DNA.

More specifically, one of the root cause of cell senescence should be that the harmful substances produced during the life of the cell continuously accumulate and circulate in the body, and continue to destroy other cells. The accumulation of these harmful substances to a certain extent will directly interfere with and disrupt the replication of DNA, resulting in genetic mutations. When a large number of genetic mutations occur in sperms and eggs, they cause various genetic diseases in the fetus; when they occur in somatic cells, they will cause cancer and other diseases.

Then, why do the fertilized eggs of middle-aged and old women still grow into healthy babies? Female egg cells are all present at birth in baby girls, why aren't most of the cell damage accumulated in middle-aged and old parents passed on to their children? Why don't these injuries accumulate from generation to generation? Through previous analysis, this reason should have little to do with DNA, but mainly related to other substances in the cell. There are many specific reasons, such as germ cells being screened (sperm races, etc.), and stronger cell repair capabilities, but cell damage is still inevitable for decades.

I propose a crude hypothesis: the reason why aging germ cells can also grow into healthy people, and the damages to germ cells do not accumulate from generation to generation, is that the process of continuous division and proliferation dilutes the aging substances (i.e. the products of cell damage) derived from parents. In the process of dividing a fertilized egg into countless cells in the human body, the original harmful substances in each new cell are rapidly diluted to negligible levels as long as the harmful substances in it do not interfere with DNA replication during the initial cell division process. For example, 1024 new cells will be formed after just 10 divisions from the fertilized egg, and the concentration of harmful substances will be only one thousandth of the original.

A counter example is that the effect of injecting stem cells into adults should be less effective than that of children, because the substances of stem cell division to produce new cells are still derived from their bodies, so there are still a lot of harmful substances in the new cells produced by adult stem cells.

 

Back to the anti-aging problem, how can we make our body's cells as young as old sperm?

To make the cells of our bodies younger, an effective way is to constantly generate new cells to replace old cells and to dilute the harmful substances in the cells. However, the new cells still produced from old substances in the human body, and all kinds of harmful substances in the human body will inevitably enter into the new cells. Therefore, we must constantly clear the harmful substances in the body, otherwise the new cells are produced directly from the original harmful substances. At the current level of science and technology, completely eliminating the harmful substances in each cell is completely impossible, but the human body has a complex body fluid circulation system. We just need to utilize the body fluid circulation system to cut the circulation chain of these harmful substances. Therefore, we should start with the two directions: apoptosis and the circulation of body fluid, on the one hand, by inducing apoptosis of aging cells, on the other hand, removing or filtering out harmful substances in body fluid to avoid the harmful substances in apoptotic cells re-entering into new cells.

These two technologies are relatively simple, more realistic and more feasible route, which can be achieved faster and attract more resources from the society, then form a virtuous circle of R & D and investment. There are a lot of anti-aging experiments in these two fields, but it seems that scientists are studying the two issues separately, either to study the apoptosis of senescent cells or to study the harmful substances in the blood. However, it only promotes the apoptosis of aging cells, and the harmful substances in decomposed cells still exist in the body, which will be re-entered into other cells and accumulated. And only removing the harmful substances in the blood is too narrow to effectively improve the state of most cells in the human body. I hope that scientists will combine these methods in the future, and I believe this will produce the effect of "1+1>2".

 

Some technical details worth considering:

  • Some harmful substances may be decomposed into harmless substances, or even converted into substances beneficial to human body.
  • The problem of some harmful substances can be solved through genetic modification.
  • Just filtering out harmful substances is safer than medicine and genetic modification. Anti-aging scientists can consider collaborating with scientists who study artificial kidneys, so that anti-aging scientists can use the existing research results of artificial kidney devices and do some long-term human experiments in the future. After all, it is difficult to tell which substances the artificial kidney needs to remove. Applying for human experiments in the name of artificial kidneys may reduce many unnecessary resistance. And artificial kidney products have the opportunity to join the anti-aging function, naturally will get much more attention and investment than the present, so that the two areas also achieve a win-win situation.

 

It may be troublesome for human beings to reach eternal life. Genetic modification should be indispensable. It may also need to deal with telomeres, culture of stem cells in vitro, and so on. But we can set the target smaller first, just to delay the aging of the human body, which is enough for us to wait until the technology continues to make progress, so that we can continue to use the new anti-aging technology.

In short, anti-aging technology can make progress in a short period of time, we should not doubt it, and the attractiveness of anti-aging is so strong that it is impossible for anyone to stop this process, and what we really need to consider is the deep effect of anti-aging technology on human society.

 

The social impact of anti-aging technology

Anti-aging technology will play a leverage role for human health. Everyone knows that young people are not prone to illness. Even if we only partially solve the anti-aging problem, we can greatly reduce the incidence of human diseases. For governments, the easiest and most effective way to solve the problem of medical insurance funds is to strengthen research on anti-aging technology. Every dollar invested in anti-aging technology may bring tens of dollars in savings to the health insurance system. And now our investment in anti-aging technology is only a tiny fraction of medical research and development expenditure, which is very unwise.

With the human health problems be solved gradually, and even the aging problem is completely solved, the financial problems of the old-age care and medical systems will be naturally eliminated, and the shortage of labor brought by aging will not exist too (assuming that artificial intelligence technology still does not solve these problems).

As for the problems that old people can’t adapt to change quickly, poor learning ability and so on, can also be solved in the future through technological means, rejuvenation itself can enable the elderly to regain their learning ability.

 

The governments

Once we understand the benefits of anti-aging technology for human health, we should think about it: Will the government restrict ordinary people from receiving anti-aging treatment?

From the government's point of view, anti-aging technology can solve the financial pressure of medical insurance and pension insurance at the same time, and it can solve all kinds of social problems caused by aging, so they will vigorously promote anti-aging technology. You can doubt the motives of the government, but you must believe in the power of money. Let's reconsider what other countries will do. The popularization of anti-aging technology is the same as the diffusion of AI technology. The game between countries and between regions will inevitably make the government promote anti-aging technology as soon as possible in order to gain competitive advantage over other countries or regions.

From a productivity point of view, when anti-aging technology matures, the application of AI technology in the medical industry should be quite deep, so productivity should not be a big problem.

In short, as long as the technology is really mature, our ordinary people do not have to worry about being abandoned by the world, just try to stay healthy and wait patiently.

 

A few questions left to the reader to think about:

  • How to solve the social class solidification caused by long life?
  • What adjustments should be made to the structure and ethics of human society to accommodate long life?
  • What work should be done with a long-lived human? What will you pursue?

These issues are discussed in Dorderism, and interested readers may wish to take a look.

 

 


ABOUT IDAO

iDao.com is a website that cultivates people's intelligence and promotes the Dorderism. The Dorderism is a future-oriented minimalist philosophy, its significance lies in providing a basic social development consensus for all human beings.