互聯網有智慧嗎?

多年前, 我曾經思考過一個關於互聯網的問題:如此大的一個網路,遠超過人類大腦的總計算能力,為何一點產生智慧的跡象也沒有?直到我開始學習瞭解 AI的相關原理, 我才理解以互聯網目前的狀態是不可能產生高級智慧的。

一個根本的問題是: 是否一個足夠大, 足夠複雜的網路或群體就可以產生智慧?注意這裡的網路或群體是廣義的, 從蟻群, 蜂群, 魚群, 到人類大腦中的神經元群, 到互聯網與物聯網組成的晶片群等等。

答案是不確定的。智慧是在一個有序的系統中湧現出的, 這種有序還不是簡單的將個體單位排在一起就可以, 而是需要群中的個體單位對群(或者說周圍環境)的狀態改變做簡單卻有規律的回應, 個體單位對群體要有一定的服從性與一致性.

比如人的腦神經元, 接收到其它腦神經元的信號後, 只要信號強度超過其閾值, 它們就一定會產生新的電脈衝。對於螞蟻或蜜蜂也是如此,它們會依據其他同伴留下的資訊素做出相對穩定的行為。

在一個群體中,當不正常的個體比例到達某一閾值之後, 整個群的行為會有巨大的變化。這也是人類的癲癇的主要原因,如果一個人的大腦中很多神經元每次接收到信號後,不反應或者胡亂的產生一些隨機的信號, 那這個人也就離神經錯亂不遠了。

 

為何目前互聯網不能產生智慧? 我認為這是因為互聯網中的各種IT設備是不能做出簡單卻有規律的回應的, 你向一台電腦發送某些資訊, 絕大多數情況下它只會返回固定的回應提示你資料格式錯誤,或者根本沒有回應。這種情況下,不會產生任何高層次動態秩序或智慧。假設電腦製造商們決定在網卡上加一些小功能, 對固定的值返回特定的值,或許或產生一些有趣的現象。

 

人類社會的智慧

類似地, 人類社會需要用不停地教育所有人, 用共同的道德、信仰、知識、法律等等, 使得每個人的行為基礎同絕大多數人相同. 如果在一個社會中, 這種認同崩潰, 社會就會陷入混亂直至分裂. 所有產生湧現現象的複雜系統都需要這種個體單元的行為保持一定程度的一致性,這也是動態秩序論所追求的基礎社會秩序。

人類社會與互聯網相比,其動態秩序更多了,但相應的混亂也更多了,無法形成穩定的動態秩序,因此也很難說是有智慧的。也因此, 我個人不是很認同所謂人類社會有自己的智慧之類的說法, 但或許可以將整個生物圈理解為生命。

 


關於智道

智道(iDao)致力於培養民智,以及推廣動態秩序論動態秩序論是一種面向未來的極簡化哲學,其意義在於為全人類提供一種基礎性的社會發展共識。

Does the Internet has intelligence?

Years ago, I once thought about a question about the Internet: It's such a large network which far exceeds the total computing power of the human brain, but why are there no signs of intelligence? It was not until I began to learn about the AI principles that I realized it was impossible to generate advanced intelligence in the current state of the Internet.

One fundamental question is whether a large enough complex network or group can generate intelligence. Note that the networks or groups here are broadly defined, from ant colonies, bee colonies, fish schools, neuron groups in the human brain, to chipsets composed of the Internet(include the Internet of Things).

The answer is no or not sure. Intelligence emerges in an orderly system. This ordering is not simply to put individual units together, but requires individual units in a group to respond to changes in the state of the group (or the surrounding environment) simply but regularly, and individual units must have certain obedience and consistency to the group.

For example, when human brain neurons receive signals from other brain neurons, they will generate new electrical pulses as long as the signal intensity exceeds their threshold. The same is true for ants or bees, which behave relatively steadily based on pheromones left by their peers.

In a group, when the proportion of abnormal individuals reaches a certain threshold, the behavior of the entire group will change dramatically. This is the main reason of human epilepsy. If many neurons in a person's brain fail to respond or randomly produce random signals every time they receive a signal, the person is also not far from neurological disorder.

So, why can't the Internet generate intelligence at the moment? I think this is because various IT devices on the Internet cannot make simple but regular responses. When we send certain information to a computer, in most cases it just returns a fixed response prompting you that the data is malformed, or that there's no response at all. In this case, no highly dynamic order or intelligence can be generated. Suppose the computer manufacturers decide to add some small features to network cards, such as returning a specific value for a fixed value, there may will show some interesting phenomena.

 

The intelligence of human society

Similarly, human society needs to educate everyone constantly, using common ethics, beliefs, knowledge, laws, and so on, so that everyone acts on the same basis as the vast majority of people. If this identity collapses in a society, the society will fall into chaos and split up. All the complex systems that produce emergent phenomena need to maintain a certain degree of consistency in the behavior of individual units, which is also the basic social order pursued by the Dorderism.

Compared with the Internet, human society has more dynamic order, but the corresponding chaos is also more, and it is unable to form a stable dynamic order, so it is difficult to say that it is intelligent. So I personally don't agree with the idea that human society has its own intelligence, but perhaps the entire biosphere can be understood as a living thing.

 


ABOUT IDAO

iDao.com is a website that cultivates people's intelligence and promotes the Dorderism. The Dorderism is a future-oriented minimalist philosophy, its significance lies in providing a basic social development consensus for all human beings.