想要AI升級你的身體嗎?[影評]

聲明:本文盡可能少地透露劇情,但仍不可避免地有少量劇透。

 

升級Upgrade (2018) 是一部科幻影片,由Leigh Whannell編劇並執導。本片中的一個關鍵情節是:男主角癱瘓,然後為了重新獲得行動的能力,接受了一項手術,依靠植入體內的人工智慧間接控制他的身體。在看到這段情節時,我首先感覺很怪異,因為這顯然是一種嚴重的科技發展失衡:通過幹細胞等技術修復人體神經系統要比研製一個強AI,再通過這個AI控制人體要容易太多了!但後來隨著劇情的發展,我發現這一情節設定是必需的。

與正常人體相比,使用AI間接控制人體有一個巨大的優勢:快速學習技能,或者乾脆避免了學習技能的過程。人類大腦的學習複雜技能的過程大體是這樣的:大量的腦神經元需要與其它的神經元產生連接,形成一個腦神經的子網路,這個子網路中的連接要不斷被優化、調整,還要產生大量突觸固化有用的連接,才能最終在大腦中形成一個穩固的子網路,人類才能真正習得一項複雜技能,因此人類學習複雜技能的速度是十分緩慢的。

在其他科幻作品中,這個問題通常沒有被足夠的重視。比如 駭客帝國 中,主人公Neo在極短時間內習得武術,迅速成為功夫大師。而在Upgrade中,這個問題被更合理地解決了,由AI先訪問大腦的控制資訊,再控制整個身體,這樣主人公就可以直接利用AI的各種技能(比如搏鬥)。而且,這個設定也推動了後續情節的發展,在此就不多透露了。

我心目中更合適的情節是:主人公恢復身體之後,發現殺害妻子的暴徒都被身體強化過,雖然自己恢復了健康,但仍無力對抗他們,這時,他尋求升級自身,就更合情理了。但即使如此,我認為這部片子仍可稱得上瑕不掩瑜,結局也很有趣,值得一看。

 

那麼除了利用AI,人類未來是否永遠無法獲得快速學習的能力了?我想隨著腦際介面、人工腦技術的成熟,人類是可以通過人工腦進行快速學習的。具體方式要看人工腦的實現方式了,現在不得而知,但理論上確實是可能的。所以,耐心等待吧。

 


關於智道

智道(iDao)致力於培養民智,以及推廣動態秩序論動態秩序論是一種面向未來的極簡化哲學,其意義在於為全人類提供一種基礎性的社會發展共識。

Want AI To Upgrade Your Body? [Film Review]

Disclaimer: This post reveals the plot as little as possible, but there are still inevitably a small number of spoilers.

 

Upgrade (2018) is a sci-fi film written and directed by Leigh Whannell. A key plot in this film is that the hero is paralyzed and then, in order to regain his ability to act, undergoes an operation, so that he can relies on an AI implanted into his body to control his body indirectly. When I saw this scenario, I felt very weird first, because this is obviously a serious imbalance in the development of science and technology: it is much easier to repair the human nervous system by techniques such as stem cells than to develop a strong AI, and then control the body with this AI! But later, with the development of the plot, I found that the plot setting was necessary.

Using AI to control the human body indirectly has a huge advantage over normal humans: rapid skills learning, or simply avoiding the process of learning skills. The process of learning complex skills in the human brain is roughly like this: a large number of brain neurons need to be connected to other neurons to form a sub-network of brain nerves, which needs to be optimized and adjusted continuously, and a large number of synapses are produced to solidify useful connections in order to eventually form a solid sub-network in the brain. Only with a solid sub-network can humans really acquire a complex skill, so humans learn complex skills very slowly.

In other sci-fi works, this issue is usually not taken seriously enough. For example, in The Matrix, the protagonist Neo learned martial arts in a very short time and quickly became a kung fu master. In Upgrade(2018), this problem is solved more reasonably: the AI ​​first accesses the control information of the brain and then controls the whole body, so that the hero can directly use various skills of AI (such as fighting). Moreover, this setting also promotes the development of subsequent plots, which will not be revealed here.

The more appropriate plot in my mind is: When the hero recovers, he finds that the mobs who killed his wife are physically strengthened, and although he recovers well, he still could not fight against them. In such a situation, he seeks to upgrade his body, then the plot is more reasonable. But even so, I think this film is wonderful, it’s really worth seeing, and the ending is also very interesting.

 

So in addition to using AI, will human beings never have the ability to learn quickly? I think that with the maturity of the brain-computer interface and artificial brain technology, human beings can learn quickly through artificial brain. The specific way depends on the way the artificial brain is implemented, which is unknown at present. But it is theoretically possible, so let’s wait patiently.

 


ABOUT IDAO

iDao.com is a website that cultivates people's intelligence and promotes the Dorderism. The Dorderism is a future-oriented minimalist philosophy, its significance lies in providing a basic social development consensus for all human beings.