為什麼大腦會產生意識?

要搞清楚意識,我們需要從多個不同的方向理解它。

從我們人體的角度看,意識是“思維的感覺”,沒有什麼神秘的。

當我們的身體在進行某種動作時,比如握緊拳頭,我們身體中的神經細胞會產生感覺。而思維就好比是大腦在做某些“動作”,我們對此產生的感覺就是意識。意識之所以難以理解,是因為身體的感覺與大腦思維是分離的,我們可以很容易地明確這些感覺,但意識卻是大腦對自身活動的感覺。

我們還可以從肢體感覺開始,逐步升級來理解意識:假設我們閉上眼睛,當我們伸手去觸摸一個物體時,會產生簡單的觸覺感應;如果這個物體很冷或很熱,我們可能感到痛並害怕,這些是更複雜的感覺;如果這個物體有特定的質感或形狀,我們可能會開始產生與這個物體有關的意識。在這個意識升級過程中,大腦的意識複雜程度逐漸升高,但這些“感覺”之間並沒有本質的區別。最後產生的複雜意識,只是像多米諾骨牌一樣,引發了大量後續的思維,它只是比簡單的觸覺更複雜、更持續,或者可以被理解為高度複雜、高度動態的感覺。生物大腦的思維能力,就是這樣由簡單的外界感覺,一點一點進化到複雜的意識。

 

為何大腦需要意識與注意力?

那麼為何生物需要這種“思維的感覺”,我認為其根本原因,是由於生物大腦採用了電脈衝這種特殊的資訊傳遞方式。由於這種生理特性,大腦必須有能力選取出重要的思維資訊,維持思維的持續性。

很多人瞭解神經細胞依靠電脈衝傳遞資訊,但恐怕大部分人沒興趣思考這種資訊傳遞模式與電腦系統的差異有多麼大,它有幾個關鍵特點:

  • 腦神經細胞必須不斷地發射電脈衝,才能維持神經網路的運算資訊。除非通過大量電脈衝刺激形成新的突觸,將資訊固化在神經網路結構中(比如形成記憶),才能將思維產生的資訊用於後續的思維過程。
  • 腦神經細胞不僅可以強化其它腦神經細胞的電脈衝,也可能抑制其它腦神經細胞的電脈衝。
  • 電脈衝的資訊不僅僅是有或無,其頻率的快慢也包含資訊,這使得其傳遞的信息量大大增加。

大腦思維與我們其它感覺一樣,大量的狀態變化我們是感知不到的。比如當我們觸摸一個東西時,雖然只有手有感覺,實際上整個手臂帶動手指都在為這個行為而服務。思維也包含許多感知不到的部分,大致相當於我們通常所說的潛意識。或者說,當人們進行複雜思維時,會同時運行多個思維任務。

而神經細胞的第一個特點決定了它們“不適合”被多個思維任務共用,因為會導致不同思維任務的電脈衝信號之間產生干擾甚至衝突,這導致各個思維任務之間存在競爭關係。而有效的思維過程需要一個思維主線。因此人腦需要一種能力,區分、維持住思維主線。同時,需要適度抑制其它思維任務,以便避免其它思維任務(潛意識)干擾思維主線。(思維任務本身也可能會抑制其它不相干的腦區,進而抑制其它的思維任務,但我不確定這一點。)

另外,電脈衝會隨時中斷,因此必須維持住關鍵資訊。大腦就像一個電腦,存儲資料是有一定冗餘的,但其臨時存儲空間會隨時被新的資料覆蓋,因此大腦需要隨時把最重要的資料取出來放到某個關鍵資訊區。

我們為此所進化出的這種能力,就是意識以及注意力機制。具體而言,當同時存在多個思維任務時,大腦會分析出最重要的任務作為思維主線,強化它並抑制其它思維任務。也可能是思維任務之間互相抑制,經過多個腦神經回路的迴圈之後,導致最後形成思維主線。也可能這兩種機制都發揮作用,但結果都是必須明確出一個思維主線,這也被稱為“全有或全無” (all-or-none),因為一旦其它思維任務搶佔到注意力,其發出的抑制信號會抑制甚至破壞原有的思維主線。這也是為何人腦在某一時刻只能感受到一個意識,以及為何人類不適合同時做多種工作。

對於程式師而言,可以將思維主線理解為主執行緒,而其它思維任務是非同步執行的子執行緒或纖程,但主執行緒與子執行緒的地位是可以被隨時切換的,而且彼此之間會互相搶佔優先順序以及計算資源。

其它一些關於注意力機制的特點:

  • 只有思維任務其中之一比較重要,明顯壓過其它任務時才會出現集中注意狀態,否則人會經常走神,也就是思維主線經常在各個思維任務之間切換。
  • 而當我們精神散漫時,意識以及注意力機制可以提醒我們:“注意!集中精神才能做好眼前的事!” 這是完成重要任務的關鍵能力。
  • 持續保持注意力是很高級的智慧表現,連幼兒都很難做好。
  • 緊張、焦慮的情緒有助於強化重要的思緒,這或許是人類集中注意力的重要輔助方式。

 

關於意識,還有很多有趣的話題,比如意識的篩選機制。但這些問題就太複雜了,還是留給腦神經科學家們研究吧。

 

 


關於智道

智道(iDao)致力於培養民智,以及推廣動態秩序論動態秩序論是一種面向未來的極簡化哲學,其意義在於為全人類提供一種基礎性的社會發展共識。

Why Does The Brain Generate Consciousness?

To understand the consciousness, we need to understand it in many different ways.

From the perspective of our human body, consciousness is "the feeling of thinking", there is no mystery.

When our body is doing something, like making a fist, the nerve cells in our body produce feelings. Thinking is like the brain doing some "actions", and the feeling we feel is consciousness. The reason why consciousness is difficult to understand is because the body's senses are separate from the brain's thinking, and we can easily identify these sensations, but consciousness is the brain's senses of its own activities.

We can also start from the sense of the body, and gradually upgrade our senses to understand the consciousness: suppose we close our eyes, and when we reach out to touch an object, simple tactile sensations occur; if the object is cold or hot, we may feel pain and fear, which are more complex senses; if the object has a specific texture or shape, we may begin to generate consciousness related to this object. In this process of consciousness escalation, the complexity of the brain's consciousness increases gradually, but there is no essential difference between these "senses" or "feelings". The resulting complex consciousness, just like the dominoes, triggers a lot of follow-up thinking, which is simply more complex, more persistent than simple touch, or can be understood as a highly complex, highly dynamic sense or feeling. The brain's ability to think evolves from simple external sensations, bit by bit, to complex consciousness.

 

Why does the brain need consciousness and attention?

So why do creatures need this "feeling of thinking", I think the root cause is that the biological brain uses a special way, electric pulse, for information transmission. Because of this physiological characteristic, the brain must have the ability to select important thinking information and maintain the continuity of thinking.

Many people know that nerve cells rely on electric pulse to transmit information, but I bet most people are not interested in thinking about how different this information transmission mode is from computer systems. It has several key features:

  • Brain neurons must continuously emit electric pulses to maintain the operation information of neural networks. Unless new synapses are generated by a large number of electric pulses, and the information is solidified in the neural network structure (such as form new memory), the information generated by the thinking can be used for subsequent thinking processes.
  • Brain neurons can not only enhance the electric pulses of other brain neurons, but also inhibit the electric pulses of other brain neurons.
  • Electric pulse not only includes the information of YES or NO, but also includes information in their frequency, which greatly increases the amount of information they transmit.

 

Brain thinking is just like our other feelings, a lot of state changes are not perceptible. For example, when we touch something, even though only the hand feels it, the whole arm actually drives the finger to serve this activity. Thinking also contains many unrealized parts, roughly equivalent to what we usually call the subconscious. In other words, when people are doing complex thinking, they will run multiple thinking tasks at the same time.

The first feature of neurons determines that they are "unsuitable" to be shared by multiple thinking tasks, because it will cause interference or even conflict between electric pulse signals of different thinking tasks, which leads to a competitive relationship between various thinking tasks. An effective thinking process requires a main line of thinking. Therefore, the human brain needs a kind of ability to distinguish and maintain the main line of thinking. At the same time, it is necessary to moderately suppress other thinking tasks in order to avoid other thinking tasks (subconscious) from interfering with the main line of thinking. (Thinking missions themselves may also suppress other irrelevant brain regions and thus suppresses other thinking tasks, but I am not sure about this.)

In addition, electric pulses may be interrupted at any time, so critical information must be maintained. The brain is like a computer. It stores data redundantly, but its temporary storage space will be covered by new data at any time, so the brain needs to pick up the most important data at any time and put it in a key information area.

The ability we have evolved for this is consciousness and attention mechanism. Specifically, when there are multiple thought tasks at the same time, the brain will analyze the most important task as the main line of thinking, strengthen it and suppresses other thinking tasks. It may also be that the thinking tasks are mutually suppress each other, after multiple loops of brain circuits, leading to the formation of the main line of thinking. It is also possible that both mechanisms work, but the result is that a main line of thinking must be identified, which is also called all-or-none, because once other thinking tasks seize the attention, the suppression signals they emit will inhibit or even destroy the main line of thinking. That is why the human brain can only feel a certain consciousness at a certain moment, and why humans are not suitable for doing multiple jobs at the same time.

For programmers, the main thread of thinking can be understood as the main thread, while other thinking tasks are asynchronous sub-threads or fibers, but the status of the main thread and sub-threads can be switched at any time, and each other will try to seize the priority and computing resources.

 

Other features about the attention mechanism:

  • Only one of the thinking tasks is more important and obviously overwhelming other tasks, the state of concentration state will appear. Otherwise, people will often be distracted, that is, the main line of thinking often switches between the various thinking tasks.
  • And when we are in a state of distraction, consciousness and attention mechanisms can remind us: "Pay attention! Concentrate on what we do now!" This is the key ability to accomplish important tasks.
  • Continuous attention is a very advanced intelligent performance, even young children can't do it well.
  • Nervousness and anxiety help to reinforce important thoughts, which may be important aids to human attention and concentration.

 

There are many other interesting topics about consciousness, such as the screening mechanism of consciousness. But these problems are too complicated, so they are left for brain neuroscientists to study.

 


ABOUT IDAO

iDao.com is a website that cultivates people's intelligence and promotes the Dorderism. The Dorderism is a future-oriented minimalist philosophy, its significance lies in providing a basic social development consensus for all human beings.